The Hampstead Companies

 

specializing in the creation and preservation of Affordable Housing

 
TL mobile.jpg
 
 

DEVELOPMENT

Hampstead has developed a strong reputation and gained valuable experience related to development and repositioning of existing properties using conventional financing, bond financing, low-income housing tax credits, and historic tax credits with State and Local participation.

Every bit as important as purchasing properties and financing them is completing the rehab on budget and successfully operating the properties post rehab.  Hampstead’s in-house development, architecture, construction, and energy groups enables a streamlined process from pre-development through stabilization.

 
 
 
 

“It is not the beauty of a building you should look at; it’s the construction of a foundation that will stand the test of time.”

David allan coe

 
 
architecture16x9 2.jpg
 
 

ARCHITECTURE

The Arcadia Group offers architectural sustainable design, assessment, specification and construction supervision services to the multifamily repositioning industry at large. Exclusive and focused attention related to rehabilitation/redevelopment projects has provided the team with the specialized experience and knowledge necessary to assess, specify, bid-out and supervise such projects.

 
 
 
 

 “the center of our effort is here… the place we all call our home.”

LYNDON B. JOHNSON

 
foundation processed.jpg
 
 

FOUNDATION

Hampstead has long recognized that providing housing alone serves but one aspect of the needs of its residents, as important as addressing that is. Once that basic need is met, residents must be provided with the means to better the lives of their families, grow and to prosper economically.

Seeing an unmet need and a disconnection between housing and services, Hampstead has formed The Hampstead Foundation, a nonprofit entity tasked with the purpose of enhancing opportunity for its residents.

The Foundation is not designed to replace the important roles that Hampstead’s local nonprofit and agency partners play as a part of its development teams, but rather as an asset and adjunct there-to.

For additional information please visit www.thehampsteadfoundation.org

 
 
 
 

 To assist in the provision of housing for low- and moderate-income families…to improve living environment

Housing and Urban Development Act of 1965

 
dc processed.jpg
 
 

 HISTORY

The Hampstead Companies is a partnership between Hampstead Development Partners, The Hampstead Group, Hampstead Development Group, Hampstead Construction, and The Arcadia Group.

In 1992 Hampstead Partners was formed under the umbrella of Hampstead Financial by Chris Foster, Jay Wentz and Norm Root. HP soon became one of the most successful and well-known providers of consulting services to the housing industry in the nation. As a part of its association with special legal counsel, Peabody and Brown in Washington, DC, the group processed 260 eligible projects under the preservation programs over the next 4 years. This represented approximately 20% of the national market share processed from 1993 through 1996.

As the ELIHPA and LIHPRHA programs wound down in the late 1990’s HP turned its focus to the acquisition and rehabilitation of existing low-income housing properties. To aid in this effort Art Balourdas was brought on board in 2000 and in 2002 HP Architecture was formed under the Hampstead Partners umbrella. Architect Michael Fraire and Balourdas later formed The Arcadia Group.

In 2004 HP Project Managers Jeff Jallo and Greg Gossard joined together to form Hampstead Development Group and in 2010 Foster, Jallo, and Gossard formed The Hampstead Group to continue the partnership. In 2017 Senior Asset Manager Patrick Harper was promoted to Principal, and CFO Brad Adams was promoted to Partner. Today the team continues development as Hampstead Development Partners.

 

THE HAMPSTEAD COMPANIES

SAN DIEGO, CA TEAM

Greg Gossard, President
E: greg@hampstead.com

Laura Billos, Project Manager
E: laura@hampstead.com

Jeff Jallo, Principal
E: jeff@hampstead.com

Daniel Geiger, Designer
E: daniel@hampstead.com

Brad Adams, CFO
E: brad@hampstead.com

Garrett Mann, ConST. Manager
E: gmann@hampstead.com

Chris Foster, Chairman
E: cfoster@hampstead.com

Alie Millette, Legal Assistant
E: alie@hampstead.com

 


Tina Bushong, Senior Accountant
E: tina@hampstead.com


Jennifer Wilson, Staff Accounting
E: jennifer@hampstead.com

 
 

BETHESDA, MD TEAM

 

Patrick Harper, Principal
E: patrick@hampstead.com

Michael Murphy, Principal
E: mmurphy@hampstead.com

 
 
 

THE ARCADIA GROUP

 

Arthur M. Balourdas, Principal
E: art@hampstead.com

Mike Fraire, Principal
E: michael@hampstead.com

 
 

OUR PORTFOLIO

 

CONTACT US

California

1350 Columbia Street
Suite 802
San Diego, CA 92101
Phone: 619-543-4200
Fax: 619-543-4220

Maryland

7514 Wisconsin Ave., Suite 350
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (240) 800-3986

 
sd mobile.jpg